2024 California Reproductive Loss Leave
Effective January 1st, 2024, California employers with five or more paid employees must grant reproductive loss leave. Employees must be granted up to five days of leave following a reproductive loss event, which is the day (or for a multiple day event, the final day) of a failed adoption, surrogacy, miscarriage, stillbirth, or unsuccessful assisted reproduction. Employees must have worked for the employers for at least 30 days prior to taking leave.
Leave is limited to no more than 20 days within a 12 month period, even if an employee experiences more than one loss within that time. Leave can be taken on nonconsecutive days, but must be taken within three months of the loss. Employees that take any other leave prior to or immediately following a loss must complete their reproductive leave within three months of the other leave ending.
If the employer has an existing and applicable employer leave, reproductive loss leave must be taken in accordance with that policy. If no policy exists, the leave may be unpaid. Employees are allowed to use accrued and unused sick leave or PTO to be paid during the leave.
Employers are required to maintain the confidentiality of any employee requesting this leave and cannot retaliate them for requesting or taking the leave.
For more information, you can view the law here.
Get day-to-day updates on California Reproductive Loss Leave , visit the Vida HR Knowledge Center (Vida HR Clients Exclusive).